how do you make wool dreads?

WELL LET ME TELL YOU!

I have been getting rather irritated with people asking me how I make my dreads. So here I am to tell you. Plus, I care about my internet friends who are Googling, “How do you make wool dreads?” I haven’t found extravagant tutorials either, that weren’t videos. Tabitha to the rescue! Now here is another dread picture.

I am going to be using the “I don’t have the money to do any more than what I am doing right now” technique. I don’t believe in spending money that you don’t need to spend. I am a sad poor sap anyways, so that helps. πŸ™‚ If you want to use spiffy supplies and want a tutorial for that, then get outta here! (after commenting and subscribing please)

The supplies include:

A medium-sized tub, preferably microwave safe.

Some dish soap. This helps the wool dread (verb).

A towel for the work area.

Your hands for palm-rolling.

And last, but not least, your wool roving!

First step: Setting everything up. Get a towel laid down for your main work area. I like to set up in front of the television, where my housemates play Nazi Zombie games. ^_^ I’m filling up my tub halfway with water, and putting a general amount of soap in there. You want it to feel quite slippery to the touch. Make the water so hot that you can barely stand it. You don’t really have to put your hands in the water, you can use a fork or something to get the wool out of the water when you need to.

The maybe-should-have-been-done-before-the-first-step step: Get your wool ready for the process. With the wool I got, I could get six double ended dreads out of each. (Here is where I got my wool. I bought the African Safari Pack. I am very satisfied:) I unroll the roll, and separate it all into three pieces. I have long hair. Then, I split the three pieces in half. This makes six double ended dreads for me. I do sort of pull them and stretch them, because my hair is Terribly Long. But try not to tear it in half, because it just makes it hard to felt together. >;.<; I did this a lot on accident. I used my crochet hook for my real dreads to sort of get it back together.

I know that there are scissors in the picture, but do not cut them to separate the sections like this, gently and slowly tear them in half. This will make it so it comes out evenly.


Another step: Put a section of the wool that we had prepared into the tub of soapy water, and let it sit for a few minutes. Have you ever braided your hair when it was wet, and when you take it out the hair is all crimped, and it sort of took shape of the braid? The same thing happens with the wool, because it’s wool. It’s real hair, and it does that same thing. πŸ™‚ So let the section of wool sit in the water for a minute. Don’t do more than one section at a time because it will all dread together. ^-^

Next step: Take out one end of the soaking section, and start palm rolling it. Just go up and down the dread in phases. Don’t try to do one section of the dread all at once, or try to perfect it too soon. It will get weird folds in it, so go through the dread once, then back, and then again. Do this until it’s really tight, and feels like a rope. I do this one bit at a time, and I keep the bits I am not working on in the water. Back and forth, back and forth, so on and so forth… For the sake of this tutorial, I only did half of the dreading at first, to show you a before and after.

Step without number: Take it out of the water, and squeeze most of the water out. I lie it on the towel, and let it dry. I left the soap that got in the dread in there, because I couldn’t smell the soap at all, and I didn’t think it hurt anything. You can rinse it if you want to though.

A small note: I rub the middle a bit to make a nice bend/fold, because I don’t like it when they stick up a whole lot. πŸ™‚ Your choice. The dreads should be really tough and thick. Like a rope. So they will probably stick up in the beginning.

Installation: I put mine halfway through my roots, and tied one side down with an orthodontic band to make sure it would stay. If you have normal hair, you can just plait in half of the dread, and put a tiny band at the bottom to hold it all together. You can make single ended dreads, and slide them up onto a dread and then tie them down, or slide the open end onto a section of hair and braid it down. To make a single ended dread, I just made a dread with a really thin end on one side and tied a little knot. It worked out pretty well, but I can’t say that I am an expert in this. I’m sure that with your own project you could figure out something better if your into single ended dreads. I wanted filler dreads for volume, so double ended dreads worked for me. They are easier too. I am pro-double ended. πŸ™‚

Send me results and comment! Thank you for reading, and tell me if I am missing something. I am a nube so I probably forgot something super important. πŸ™‚ Thank you for reading!

About Tabitha

Living in Alaska, working with animal protection. Interests: Dogs, school, ice cream Gender: Female Age: 17 Status: Working on a trip to Turkey.
This entry was posted in art, Dreads, My Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to how do you make wool dreads?

  1. Denise says:

    Nice tutorial Tabitha!

Leave a Reply

