I don’t want to drive

And here is why…

I live on an island that is approximately 30 miles long and I have a bike. If I really needed to get somewhere, riding a bike can be faster than facing traffic. It takes me 15 minutes at most to get to work, which is 3 miles from home. In a car, it takes 10 minutes, if it is 2:oo am! There is one main road here, and it gets blocked up fast. Driving is burning holes in the one thing that is truly keeping us alive, the ozone layer.

It is also keeping me very healthy. 🙂 I am a very lazy person when it comes to working out, and would prefer to do something outdoorsy than go to a sweaty, boggy, hot, and smelly gym.

Public transportation= You will smell like hobo for the rest of the day… Just kidding. I use the city bus often, mostly when it is raining. I can even do half and half. I just put my bike on the bus’s bike rack (and hope that the driver doesn’t crash!)

If it is awful and terribly stormy like it has been here in Alaska recently, I have the option of walking down the hill a bit to a coworkers house for a car pool. This is perfect for me, because I live so close to her and we usually have the same hours.

So, I support the use of bicycles, public transportation, and carpooling.

(Off topic) My carbon footprint is rather small, I am thinking. I have dreads, (less use of chemicals for hair going into the ocean) I don’t have a car, I wear warm clothes in the house, rather than turning up the heat, I turn off lights when I leave the room, etc. etc… You get the idea.

Keepin my brains safe from the aliens!

And remember, always wear a helmet!

About Tabitha

Living in Alaska, working with animal protection. Interests: Dogs, school, ice cream Gender: Female Age: 17 Status: Working on a trip to Turkey.
This entry was posted in The Rest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

