Paper Mache Piggy

I started looking around for a piggy bank to buy online, and found that all of the piggy banks that I would like have prices that hover between 20 and 40 dollars. I have a limited budget, and had the amazing idea to make my own piggy bank. Paper mache style.

I haven’t done this since the third grade, so I skimmed over some online directions and started to make the piggy with a balloon, egg carton cups, painters tape, newspaper, and some home-made paste.

Here is what happened: I didn’t tape the piggy’s legs securely enough, and during the drying process the legs slowly gave away to the weight, leaving the balloon belly touching the ground. I can fix that, because I haven’t covered that part yet, but he looks extra fat now. 🙂 I didn’t use small enough newspaper strips, and even though he was smooth before I set him down to dry, the wrinkles started to appear after the first night. I wouldn’t mind trying this again. And the next time I do I will be sure to get pictures, because I think posts can get horribly boring without pictures.

Thank you for reading. Please follow in the column to the right.

About Tabitha

Living in Alaska, working with animal protection. Interests: Dogs, school, ice cream Gender: Female Age: 17 Status: Working on a trip to Turkey.
This entry was posted in My Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

