Living in Alaska

There are a lot of cool things that I get to see.

On multiple occasions I have watched black bears chase after mountain goats on the side on Mount Juneau, without binoculars.

Mountain Goat

Brown Bear. (Lets pretend that it’s a black bear.)

Dead salmon

The salmon spawning is fun, but not after the fish die. I think that staying far from any water bodies is your best bet once they start to die. The smell is EVERYWHERE. O.O

I can walk out of my house and throw fish guts to eagles. Eagles are very much like ravens or pigeons, and are sort of pests in Juneau. The ravens are rather big, and can stand around one to one and a half feet tall, and they get aggressive when they want your french fries. 🙂

Raven taunting Eagle

I was just out in the woods and heard something crashing through the branches. I think there were about six eagles and a LOT of ravens fighting over one salmon, that looked to be only 20lbs. I thought that the crashing was a bear or two! It was really that loud. We don’t have open woods, they are usually pretty dense, and I couldn’t believe that there were so many eagles doing what they were doing.I think that the ravens got most of the fish. Brains over brawn I guess.

That is all for today. 🙂

Please follow in the column to the right.

About Tabitha

Living in Alaska, working with animal protection. Interests: Dogs, school, ice cream Gender: Female Age: 17 Status: Working on a trip to Turkey.
This entry was posted in The Rest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

