Walking in Alaska


I had to step through muck and marsh to get a picture of this tree. A lot of the trees are very weathered, and just get beautiful through winters. Dead branches like this don’t last long, because of how wet and humid it is all of the time in South East Alaska. They rot away rather quickly. The trees are all growing off of dead trees, and it makes a lot of hollow spaces under roots from dead trees rotting away, which is very eery looking, especially with all of the swamp and marsh that I was around.

I saw a few short broken pines that I might collect later in June. They were growing on about five inches of soil, and then rock. There aren’t too many healthy short trees though, so I will keep looking.

pine tree art

I didn’t take a picture of the tree that I was looking at, so I drew it for you guys. 🙂

It has two live branches, is about a foot and a half tall, and has shallow roots. That means that I am going to need a wide pot, which I do not have… Yet…

Thank you for reading!

About Tabitha

Living in Alaska, working with animal protection. Interests: Dogs, school, ice cream Gender: Female Age: 17 Status: Working on a trip to Turkey.
This entry was posted in did not categorize and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

